Slowcooker Barbecue Ribs

Our apartment is a football apartment. Well, 2/3 of it is and if you round up that equals a whole, right? Especially when the dissenting 1/3 (me) doesn’t not-like football. I don’t count as a full fan, but I’m enjoying learning how the game works. We decided to have a few friends over for the SuperBowl which clearly meant I had to make something fun. Along with the guacamole, salsa and queso we decided ribs were the way to go.

My dad gave me a CrockPot for my birthday last year and I’m kind of in love with it. As a student with a workstudy job, I’m gone for the majority of the day, sometimes not getting back until after 9pm. Nights like that, my slowcooker is a life-saver. I just throw things in right before I leave the house and when I get back I have food. So, even though we were at home all day working the day of the SuperBowl I wanted to try out my CrockPot’s rib-cooking skills. I have to say, we’ll definitely do this again. But not while we’re at home  because we’ve been dying with hunger for the last 6 hours. The smell of the sauce just permeates the entire apartment and we’ve been hungry since the cooking started at 11am. The hunger is also why there isn’t a real plated photo of the meal. You tell ten hungry football fans they can’t eat the ribs they’ve been smelling for the first half (and longer) because you have to take a picture. Trust me, they’re good– and totally OK to eat even now that it’s not football season anymore.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Barbecue Ribs

From FoodNetwork.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 sides pork spareribs (about 6 pounds), separated
  • 1 (28-oz) can chunky tomato sauce
  • 1/3 c. brown sugar
  • 2 Tbs red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs chili powder (I used 1/2Tbs because I’m a pansy)
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Place the spareribs in the bottom of a slow cooker. In a medium bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients.

Pour the mixture over the spareribs. Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 8 hours or on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours.

Go do something else (like your thesis research) and come back 6 hours later to find that your food has cooked itself without you watching. Miracles!

About Wish

A graduate student with two cats and a passion for good food and good conversation, both preferably shared with friends.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

